Accessible Information Standard

At Wandsworth CCG, we are actively following the Accessible Information Standard.

In July 2015 the Accessible Information Standard was published. All organisations that provide NHS or adult social care must follow the accessible information standard by law. This is explained in Section 250 of the Health and Social Care Act 2012.

The NHS Accessible Information Standard directs and defines a specific, consistent approach to meeting the information and communication support needs of people whose needs relate to a disability, impairment or sensory loss.

This includes:

  • patients

  • service users

  • carers

  • parents

In implementing the Standard, applicable organisations are required to complete five distinct stages or steps leading to the achievement of five clear outcomes:

1.    Identification of needs

2.    Recording of needs

3.    Flagging of needs

4.    Sharing of needs

5.    Meeting of needs  

Find out more about NHS England's Accessible Information Standard 

2. Accessible Information Standard.pdf
3. AIS action plan.pdf
4. AIS presentation.pdf