What are Clinical Commissioning Groups?

Clinical Commissioning Groups, also known as CCGs, are groups of GPs in charge of designing local health services. They replaced primary care trusts in April 2013.

Wandsworth CCG is responsible for planning, buying and monitoring health services including: 

  • Rehabilitation care
  • Non-emergency hospital care
  • Urgent and emergency care
  • Mental health and learning disability services
  • Most community health services

CCGs are working with patients, healthcare professionals and in partnership with local communities and local authorities.

CCGs have been established under the Health and Social Care Act 2012, after being "authorised" by NHS England, formerly the NHS Commissioning Board.


 Further Information

For further information about Clinical Commissioning groups go to the NHS England​ ​​website.